Skip to content

My Desert Island DVDs

April 18, 2010

You are stranded on a desert island - What DVDs would you watch while you helplessly prod a dying fire? Movie blogger,  Andy, of Fandango Groovers spawned this idea. I wrote a list on impulse of ten DVDs over on Olive’s blog at Movie News First. Since then, I have made one or two alterations to my list and below you will find the final version!

 

All About Eve “My name is Addison DeWitt. My native habitat is the theatre. In it I toil not, neither do I spin. I am a critic and commentator. I am essential to the theatre”

 

Beetlejuice “Don’t mind her. She’s still upset, because somebody dropped a house on her sister”

 

 

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

“There is no life I know to compare with pure imagination. Living there, you’ll be free if you truly wish to be”

 

Star Trek – The Next Generation “Shields up! Red alert!”

 

Santa Claus – The Movie “Now, all those within the sound of my voice, and all those on this Earth everywhere know that henceforth, you will be called…Santa Claus”

 

Dogma “How can you even be sure what incurs the Lord’s wrath these days? Times change. I remember when eating meat on a Friday was supposed to be a Hell-worthy trespass”

 

Die Hard “Karl, schiess dem Fenster………Shoot the glass!”

 

A Hard Day’s Night “He’s very fussy about his drums, you know. They loom large in his legend”

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 7:32 pm

    That guy from Beetlejuice makes me laugh everytime:)
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, great choice, just as long as there’s chocolate on the desert island, otherwise it would be torture!
    And yay, another point for Die Hard:)

  2. April 18, 2010 7:41 pm

    Me too! I hadn’t thought about the lack of chocolate on the island until now. Unless…maybe it’s a “dessert” island…. :D

  3. pansquared permalink
    April 18, 2010 10:27 pm

    No ‘Shawshank Redmption’? T_T
    Good lookin list though :) Gene Wilder’s ‘Willy Wonka’ was just unforgettable

  4. April 19, 2010 9:48 am

    Haha, dessert Island, now that would be fun… unless you’re a diabetic, obviously. :-)

    Great List, love the inclusion of The Santa Clause Movie. I always remember the bit where the little rich girl gives the little street urchin kid some ham and bread and a can of Coke on the roof, he eats it enthusiastically and then does a big burp! Great.

    Was never a fan of Star Trek the series, Loved the recent film by J.J. Abrams. Can take or leave beatlejuice and Dogma doesn’t really do it for me. Must see A hard Days Night, is it any good?

  5. April 19, 2010 10:58 am

    Thanks for the link I have put it on the blog. Some great choices but I must admit I preferred version 1 with Igby Goes Down.

  6. April 19, 2010 1:25 pm

    P.S. I tagged you in the 10 Movie Facts about me meme.

  7. April 19, 2010 3:16 pm

    Interesting choices! Willy Wonka is definitely one of the most re-watchable movies, but that opening alone would make me way too hungry! I love the inclusion of Beetlejuice, Die Hard, and All About Eve.

  8. April 19, 2010 6:50 pm

    @pansquared I decided I’d already seen Shawshank one too many times :)

    @I used to love that clinking Coke can part. This is an example of the type of comedy in A Hard Day’s Night: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0H4JcixLxc&feature=related

    @fandangogroovers I decided to choose The Beatles over Kieran Culkin in the end :)

    @Olive Thanks – I’ll jot down a few facts later!

    @Alex Thanks for your comment, Alex. I could watch Gene Wilder in that role till the cows come home!

  9. April 19, 2010 11:29 pm

    ah Beetlejuice! I haven’t seen that in ages…I dont have its dvd and your list makes me miss that movie.

    I like Willy Wonka but it’ll make me crave for chocolate and my life in desert island will be misrable

    Great list.

  10. April 20, 2010 8:26 am

    Thanks for your comment, Novroz. I’d definitely be craving the chocolate, or the lickable wallpaper :)

    • April 20, 2010 9:15 am

      You might start wishing that the desert island becomes a chocolate Island :)

  11. April 20, 2010 9:28 am

    A chocolate sea and a candy-cane island – I’d never want to leave!

    • April 20, 2010 1:08 pm

      Gyahaha that will be the best cast away moment ever!!

  12. Marc permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:20 pm

    Great choices with Beetlejuice, Willy Wonka and Dogma!! Awesome films that should keep you pondering the after-life, bad LSD trips and God whilst you wait to be rescued:P

    While I prefer Die Hard as my Christmas movie of choice over Santa Claus – The Movie, I respect you voicing your fondness of it here. Most people I know either have never heard of it or will deny seeing it. To which I say to them, it’s better than Elf and the only holiday movie you should truly deny having seen is Ernest Saves Christmas…

Trackbacks

  1. Desert island DVDs « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog
  2. The award winning Fandango Groovers Movie Blog « Fandango Groovers Movie Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

