Skip to content

Belated Teaser Tuesday

May 12, 2010

I was browsing through Novroz’s Favourite Things, when a post entitled “Teaser Tuesday” caught my attention. I immediately warmed to this meme, so you can expect it to feature on my blog again in the near future.  The concept of Teaser Tuesday originated at Should Be Reading and  can be explained in the following easy steps!

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

At the moment, the book I keep dipping into is a book of short stories written by Elizabeth Bowen, named “The Collected Stories of Elizabeth Bowen”.

I randomly chose Page  32 and pulled these two teaser sentences:

“Lydia felt as though she had caught her own eye, and was embarrassed and discomfited. She listened with derision to her glib and sugary banalities of speech”.

And, finally, at the risk of straying off the guidelines of this meme to an even greater degree, one of my favourite general quotes from Elizabeth Bowen is:

“Mechanical difficulties with language are the outcome of internal difficulties with thought”.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 10:42 pm

    I like your teaser 🙂 there are some difficult words there, I have to open my dictionary.

    Thequite is as interesting as the teaser.

  2. May 13, 2010 3:44 am

    I teach ESL in South Korea, and can definitely relate to that last quote. Great picture to go with the blog!

  3. May 14, 2010 3:00 pm

    Those are both great quotes! 🙂

  4. May 15, 2010 2:41 pm

    I joined teaser tuesday about a month ago and LOVE it!! The only down side is that I’m finding all these new books and authors I want to read. My “to read” list is incredibly long already!
    If you would like to exchange postcards with me – email me and we can swap addresses 🙂

Leave a Reply

