Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday

July 5, 2010

The concept of Teaser Tuesday originated at Should Be Reading and  can be explained in the following easy steps!

  1. Grab your current read.
  2. Open to a random page.
  3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.
  4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
  5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

I know it’s Monday and therefore the idea of Teaser Tuesday is a little premature…or even redundant… Nonetheless, in an effort to regenerate the frequency of my blog posts, I’m going to force feed you a teaser from a book I have “to hand” at the moment.

This week’s book is “How to Survive a Robot Uprising”, by Daniel H. Wilson. Here is a quote from page 145:

“The uprising is timed to occur with a critical mass of infected robots and during a vulnerable time for humans (like on a rainy Monday morning). While hundreds of thousands of service robots run amuck, the malevolent AI shuts down utilities and disrupts communication and transportation networks”.

In honour of this quote…a robot violin recital:

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 6:43 pm

    Is that robot recital for real?! That’s freaking me out and I feel sorry for the robot, strange…

  2. July 5, 2010 8:13 pm

    @Olive I feel sorry for the robot too 😦

    That vibrato is pretty impressive! Apparently the violin-playing capability demonstrates the possibilities for a human assistance robot.

  3. July 5, 2010 10:42 pm

    Love the teaser, I’ll check the video later.

    I’ve never read any book with robot as the main topic, I should try it someday. It’s a scifi book, right?

    You know, it’s already tuesday in my country 😉

  4. July 6, 2010 8:44 am

    @Novroz Here’s some more info about the book 🙂 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/How_to_Survive_a_Robot_Uprising

  5. July 6, 2010 10:12 pm

    Love that pic Roisin, you always come up with the very last thing I expect… I’m beginning to expect it. You better do something more garden variety, quick. 🙂

  6. July 7, 2010 3:37 pm

    Very fun post! Love the Optimus on a rampage graphic followed by the calming recital creating the best bookends. The toyota robot worries me in the same way that the last three minutes of Battlestar Galactica did though.

  7. July 7, 2010 8:46 pm

    @Ronan Oh dear. I’ll certainly attempt to quash the unpredictability!

    @Robert I haven’t seen the BSG ending yet, so I’m like The Three Wise Monkeys while I’m trying to avoid spoilers!

    • July 12, 2010 5:35 pm

      I keep telling people that I didn’t read Harry Potter for fear of spoiling the films.

      • July 13, 2010 9:06 am

        @Robert I started watching the BSG miniseries at the weekend. I love it. And I want to be Starbuck 🙂

  8. September 23, 2010 8:11 pm

    This is one cool TT! Loved the video. He even did the little trills. Last night I watched ‘I, Robot’ and decided to read the book. Now I might change my mind and read your one 🙂

    • September 24, 2010 9:11 am

      A film that’s not particularly fantastic, but still breaks my heart every time I watch it is “AI”! There’s something about a ‘sad’ robot that really tugs at the heartstrings 🙂

Leave a Reply

