Skip to content

July 12, 2010

Harvey Pekar

October 8, 1939 – July 12, 2010

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 12:23 am

    This made me so sad this morning. I met him at numerous shows in NYC when I was a kid. His voice both literally and in the literary sense will be missed.

    • July 13, 2010 8:57 am

      @Robert I always thought that some day I’d get the chance to shake his hand. What was he like in person?

      • July 13, 2010 2:23 pm

        He was awkward, shifty, and could have been mistaken for a vagrant. He was wonderfully low-key. In the midst of a comic-book show, it seemed like he didn’t belong, but looking back I think it was the rest of them that didn’t belong and he was right where he should’ve been.

      • July 13, 2010 2:29 pm

        You’re so lucky to have met him, especially more than once!
        His awkwardness is so endearing 🙂 Whenever I watch footage of him, I love the way he is so direct and the way he spends most of his time just watching people and not quite knowing how to fit into social norms. Or rather recognising them and not wanting to meld in so easily.

  2. rouju permalink
    July 13, 2010 5:38 am

    Damn, another good guy is gone

    • July 13, 2010 8:59 am

      @rouju I know 😦 I always think of Harvey and Joyce as a duo. It’s strange to think that only one half remains!

  3. Darren permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:39 am

    I didn’t even realise he was gone until I came on here. RIP.

    • July 13, 2010 9:01 am

      @Darren I only read it late last night. I normally wouldn’t post something like this, but for Harvey Pekar I had to make an exception!

  4. July 13, 2010 9:29 am

    A lovely tribute, Roisin.

    • July 13, 2010 9:32 am

      Thanks, Dan. I thought I’d keep it simple for the Master of the Mundane 🙂

  5. July 14, 2010 2:31 pm

    I would say that any girl hip to herbal tea could be a nerd, but other questions must be asked.

    bye bye Harv.

  6. August 4, 2010 5:02 pm

    he died? :(( i knew him from an episode of tony bourdain’s ‘no reservation’ series. great appearance.

    • August 4, 2010 5:45 pm

      Unfortunately, he did 😦

      I have that Bourdain episode posted above. Pekar was really one of a kind, with an excellent brain and understanding of comedy!

  7. August 4, 2010 6:04 pm

    you know what i’d like? something like bourdain’s ‘no reservations’, but dedicated to drinks, not food. they hade ‘the thirsty traveler’ on travel&living, but that poor dude was miles below bourdain’s level.

  8. August 13, 2010 3:58 pm

    Sad news, I’m a fan

  9. August 14, 2010 4:22 pm

    A legend that will truly be missed. No doubt about that!

Leave a Reply

